Top 5 Favorite Christmas Songs Countdown (Etc.). . .

IMG_7942.JPGOver the weekend, I toured Winterthur with some friends. Winterthur (pronounced “winter-tour”) is the former estate of Henry Francis du Pont, an avid and eccentric collector. I enjoyed seeing the house with its many beautiful rooms, amazing hand-painted wallpaper, period furniture, and especially several Christmas-themed vignettes with a variety of beautiful Christmas trees (some of them are pictured above).

In my last post, I described my desire to stay focused on a few key values during this Christmas season & I do feel like my “10-ish Questions” have been helping me to stay grounded. How are you feeling about the holiday–any stresses?

In this week’s post, I’m just taking some time (while sipping Trader Joe’s Candy Cane Green Tea) to compile a “Top 5 Favorite Christmas Songs” Countdown, so you can just take a little de-stressing music break if you’d like.

Sidenote: I’m refusing to put on the local radio stations that are playing Christmas music non-stop. I can’t handle, “Baby, It’s Cold Outside” or “Dominick the Donkey” just yet, but I have enjoyed listening to a few select songs on my own terms. 🙂 If those two are your favorites, more power to you! 


My Top 5 Favorite Christmas Songs

#5 – Hark! The Herald Angels Sing (There are many good versions of this song, but I’m sharing the Charlie Brown version because the Peanuts Christmas Special is always a fun part of my Christmas traditions.)

#4 – Silent Night (Ok, so this is a pretty country-ified version of it, but how fun is that?! 😉 I’ve always really liked this song at Christmas time. Whenever I hear it, I remember singing it by candlelight at the end of Christmas Eve church services at my Grandparents’ church.)

#3 – It Came Upon a Midnight Clear (There’s not much to say about this. Just a true classic, beautifully performed.)

#2 – What Child Is This? (Hard to compete with the vocals and orchestration on this recording . . . simply beautiful.)

#1 – I Heard the Bells on Christmas Day (Our church Choir performed this a few years ago, and it has been a favorite ever since. I really like the inclusion of a children’s choir, and I also love how honest the lyrics are about desiring peace on earth, especially after a year that has felt a little too frantic in many ways.)


And now it’s your turn: I’d love to hear about (and listen to) some of your favorite Christmas songs. Would you leave a comment & tell me about them?

Have a wonderfully Merry week,

❤ Nicole


Would you like to click “Follow” to be notified each time I post? I promise you’ll never be bombarded with spammy e-mails. My regular schedule is a weekly post [usually] every Monday & sometimes I add a mid-week “Collecting Creativity” post about other creative topics.

 

One thought on “Top 5 Favorite Christmas Songs Countdown (Etc.). . .

  1. 1. O Come, O Come, Emmanuel – Because I love the anticipation of the Jewish perspective; while the rest of the world was ignorant, they were awaiting a Messiah rescuer.
    2. What Child Is This? – Can you tell I like minor keys? My top two choices are in minor keys.
    3. Star of the East – This unusual carol was my grandmother’s favorite and has always stuck with me.
    4. Hark! The Herald Angels Sing – Despite the fact that I don’t love the tune, there is so much rich theology crammed into the 2nd and 3rd verses: Veiled in flesh, the Godhead see. Hail the incarnate Deity. Pleased as man with men to dwell, Jesus, our Emmanuel. Mild He lays His glory by. Born that man no more may die. Born to raise the sons of Earth. Born to give them second birth.
    5. Do You Hear What I Hear? – I love the picture it paints; it’s like a children’s book come to life.

Comments are closed.