How & Why I Do a Monthly Recap

I love the benefits of doing what I call a Monthly Recap where I set aside 15-30 minutes at the end of every month to write about how things have gone that month in several areas.

But Why?

It’s a very simple practice but one that I’ve seen make a big difference for me.

Gratitude for the Good: Taking time to pause & reflect has helped me to celebrate some of the good things that have happened throughout the month (which can otherwise sometimes get lost in the shuffle of the busy everyday).

Awareness of the Ugly: The Recap also challenges me to be honest with myself about ways that I can continue to improve and grow. I’m less inclined to just sweep things aside and trudge ahead blindly into a new month that’s set up to repeat poor patterns.

To be clear, what I’m sharing here is only my personal method and thoughts. I’m sure that I’m not the first person on the planet to ever do this type of exercise, so if this format doesn’t seem right for you, feel free to research further for other options or to improvise your own method.

Here’s The Basic How:

  • At the end of the month, grab your journal or any paper and pen, or if you prefer, open up a document on your computer or tablet. I prefer to keep this in my Bullet Journal. I like writing it out by hand and having it in the same place as my other monthly journaling.
  • Write down headers for important areas of your life, leaving some space between each one, enough to write a short paragraph. Here’s my most recent set, which you’re welcome to share, or you can choose what seems applicable to you: Spiritual Life, Family, Friends, Work, Health, Side Projects, Summary.
  • Write a short paragraph under each header, noting ways you’ve been successful or not so successful in each area throughout the month, lessons you’ve learned, or things you want to try differently next month. I usually keep each paragraph to 3-5 sentences, which forces me to be direct and not ramble and also keeps the process short enough to not be terribly tedious. If I find that one particular topic is a lot more dense in a given month, I may take an extra journal page afterward to write some more thoughts on that topic.

That just about wraps up this quick note about doing a Monthly Recap. Is this something you do? Something you’d like to try? How was your October? I’d love to hear about any of these things, or anything else on your mind, in a comment below.

Happy Recapping & Happy November!
❤ Nicole



Would you like to click “Follow” to be notified each time I post? I promise you’ll never be bombarded with spammy e-mails. My regular schedule is a weekly post every Monday & sometimes I add a mid-week “Collecting Creativity” post about other creative topics.

Today’s Featured Image is used under Creative Commons Attribution License from Walt Stoneburner

