Collecting Creativity 6 – Really Look

I’m heading to Washington D.C. with some friends in October, and one stop I’d like to make while there is the National Portrait Gallery.

I really love portraits — the way they capture individuals in unique ways or add something to the representation of an individual’s personality with light, artistic style, or imaginative interpretation. Portraits ask you to slow down and really LOOK at people, which is something I think we can sometimes be a little too busy, distracted, or intimidated to do when we see the people around us every day.

Of course, it’s also less awkward to stare at a portrait than at a person.

Do you have a favorite portrait artist or portrait style? Is there someone in your life that you could take a few extra minutes to REALLY look at today? I’d love to hear any thoughts in a comment below!


Hey, how’s it going? My regular schedule is a weekly post every Monday & I’m also sharing content related to creativity in this series called “Collecting Creativity.” If you haven’t already subscribed to my blog, you may want to do so by clicking the link in the sidebar!

