Love & Friendship

Today, I saw a refreshingly clever film called Love & Friendship, based on the novella Lady Susan, written by the acclaimed (and often-film-interpolated) Jane Austen. I draw your attention here so that you’ll consider seeing it. Since this blog is primarily about creativity, I had to tell you that this is one of the most creative films I’ve seen in quite some time.

I went into the film knowing very little about it, wanting to be surprised by what would unfold . . .  and I was, mostly pleasantly, as this was no ordinary plodding period piece. Clever cinematic choices and spot-on acting married perfectly with Austen’s sharp wit.

If you get a chance to view it, do . . . and then tell me what you thought!

(Some of my friends and co-workers could attest to how rare it is for me to recommend a movie, so that may add to the endorsement here. 😉 )

If you’d like to read more about the film (with perhaps some spoilers), here’s a thorough, raving review from the Telegraph.

JOURNAL13_Austen_Adventure_-_1_1024x1024

And just for fun . . . this cute little travel journal features a quote from Austen’s Northanger Abbey and is available for purchase from Bookishly.

